27th September 20011
Brickfields LNR
Very misty when I got up this morning....Where is the Sun....I was promised an Indian summer from last night’s weather  forecast !
Plenty of Goldfinches in and around my garden, about 50 were flying around chattering, many were juveniles. They do like the sunflower seed hearts  I put in the birdseed feeder !
As promised the sun came out about mid day, so an early lunch and a stroll over Brickfields, early afternoon (2.00ish). Plenty to see, Great tits,  Blue tits, Robins, Goldfinches. 1 Chiffchaff ,  pair of Chaffinches, 2 Green woodpeckers, 1 Great Spotted woodpecker , 1 Sparrowhawk flying over  and a Moorhen on the pond.

As the sun was out and it was nice and warm, low 70’s I suspect, so the Butterflies were out, a few nice Gatekeepers and Speckled Woods seen. Topped off with a nice large Southern Hawker  flying around the pond.

Last Friday  and over the weekend, I was down Walton on the Naze watching  Swallows, House Martins and Sand Martins flying over  in small groups bidding farewell  and migrating to even sunnier  climes. Still some about though, but did not see any to day over Brickfields.
Bye for now




Leave a Reply.