26th May 2012
On the 7th May I joined our neighbours on a very successful ‘Dawn Chorus walk’ starting at 7:00am at the Cranham Marsh EWT reserve.  It turned out to be lovely weather what a contrast from the previous few days of cold and the rain, even the sun made an appearance! No wonder the birds were singing, even I felt like singing, they should count themselves lucky I didn’t!
I counted 32 species of Birds –best singer of the  morning in my opinion, was the Song Thrush (I counted four around the reserve) a good second the Blackcap, several counted, must be in double figures and thirdly, the Skylarks (four) over the field. In the background a couple of Woodpeckers (probably Green) were heard ‘drumming’. All rounded off with a bacon roll and a cup of tea at the end. Great company as well, what more could I have wished for – a singing Nightingale, Cuckoo.... perhaps next time. I went away happy, see some pictures taken.   Don’t forget you can now undertake a good walk from Brickfields to Cranham Marsh!
Click on the picture to enlarge

 
Pictures : 1.Song Thrush   2.Blackcap   3.Flowering Campion plant   4.The view across the fields from the  Park Drive entrance ,where Skylarks can be seen & heard most spring days.



Leave a Reply.