I9th March 2011
Brickfields LNR
Sunny Saturday, oh what a change, lovely sunshine. It does put a new colour in the reserve! You can see the birds more clearly and their colours come out much brighter. I was over there about 8:30am, late really for a birder. Very frosty when I rolled out of bed and looked out of the widow at 7:30am. Strange, very bright sunshine, but totally white with frost, glad I hadn’t planted new plants. The daffodils in my garden looked very sad.

Still dressed for winter, off I went, plenty of birdsong, I’m sure the sun cheers them up as well. The pair of Mallards still on the pond, but no sign of any nest building. Plenty of activity with the Woodpeckers, I saw a pair of Green Woodpeckers flying around almost together, looking for a nice tree to bore into I suspect.  A Great spotted Woodpecker  drumming as well . Blackbird and Great tit with nesting material flying about as well. Also a pair of Dunnocks in and out of some brambles. I’m making a note of where the nest building is taking place and see what happens... nosey birder. Counted six Jays this morning as well, they were making a hell of a racket I thought it was me they were shouting at ( they will normally see you, before you see them and all you’ll see is the back end of them flying away, the best alarm system in the woods!) However they had found a Sparrowhawk in a tree and not being the best of friends, they were mobbing it to chase it out of their space..they succeeded and I had a good view of the hawk.

I have put two new Fatballs out today and put some wild bird seed around a log near the pond. I thought blow the expense!...have the meal on me! It didn’t take long for them to discover the goodies. Blue tits,Great tits and a Greenfinch found them within half an hour. I have not forgotten about the Blackbird didn’t see him yesterday, but saw him again this morning sitting on a roof of a house, but too far away  to photograph ! I’m not a photographer either, more a happy snapper, but I’ll keep trying. Back to the house for a late breakfast and a shower. My  shower  is the only one I hope to see today, sun and a nice blue sky...yeah !

Sightings:  (numbers not counted)  Blue Tit, Great tit, Robin, Greenfinch, Goldfinch, Wood Pigeon, Collared Dove, Carrion Crow, Magpie, House Sparrow, Starling and Blackbird.

 2 Dunnock , 3 Green Woodpecker, 1 Great Spotted Woodpecker, 2 Mallard Duck, 1 Sparrowhawk, 6 Jays.

Bye for now.




Leave a Reply.