19th October 2011
Brickfields LNR
Well I’m led to believe, the Newt arrives tomorrow morning. It will be installed at the Pond dipping platform. It’s a very large, lovely wood carving, expertly done. I don’t think you will be able to miss it. I wonder what a Heron will make of it, they rather like to eat newts, but not this one, I’ll bet !
Might see you over Brickfields tomorrow. Say hello if you see me, I’ll be wearing a Green Baseball cap with a little mouse on it, not a real one, I’m not that mad .....yet !
Cranham Marsh Reserve
Now seeing it was a bright morning with a ‘nip’ in the air, I thought I’ll take a walk over Cranham Marsh. I went over there to see the new sculptures and the interpretation boards. I did not do the walk from Brickfields ( it’s 2 ½ miles if you wanted too ) I cheated and drove there by car.  However, I did walk around the whole reserve and there was plenty to see, noted; Wren (4), Robin(2) Blackbird (4), Goldfinch (10), Chaffinch (3) Green Woodpecker (2), Great spotted woodpecker ( 2) and not one of my favourite birds Ring-Necked Parakeets, I counted 7, noisy things! Even 2 Red Admiral butterflies were flitting about when it warmed up a bit.

So when you have seen Brickfields LNR, continue on and visit Cranham Marsh, you won’t be disappointed, the Sculptures are great, it’s a must visit. Well done to everyone there! Both reserves are supported by Havering Council and managed by Essex Wildlife Trust.

On the way back home to Cranham, I also stopped at The Thames Chase centre to have a nice pot of Tea and I could not resist a nice slice of homemade bread pudding.....well I had walked all around Cranham Marsh, got to keep up the energy levels and all that !

I could have stopped at the ‘Thatched House’......Pity I was driving !

Bye for now.

3/30/2013 11:00:31 pm

Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is awesome, nice written and come with almost all significant infos. I�d like to peer more posts like this .

Reply
3/31/2013 11:47:33 pm

Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

Reply



Leave a Reply.