26th March 2011
Brickfields LNR  - Helped out planting some new trees, I started about mid- day and finished about 4:00pm ( just in time for the second half of the England match! ). The planting started at 9:00am. I started at 12:00 as I went out on a  pre-arranged Bird walk near Collier Row ( see sightings below ). Well we must have planted about 200 trees, not big trees but little saplings of Blackthorn and Hawthorn, I know there were other types , however when it comes to Trees, my ignorance shows. On Thursday past, children from Engayne primary  school in Cranham started the process and made a great  job of planting with the assistance of Havering Council Wildlife and Conservation  Services. Perhaps if I had that opportunity when I was at Primary school  I would not be so ignorant of trees, but
 I ‘ve got to catch up now at my age, poor old boy!

I’ll take some pictures this week and add them to this website. That Blackbird was around on Saturday as well, but didn’t have a camera with me again ! Oh pooh ! You watch when I have the camara with me to photogragh the tree planting work, that Blackbird will be too far away to snap! 
Oh must not forget the clocks go forward.
Bye for now


Five Oaks Lane, Collier Row - 8:00 -  10:00  Up nice an early for a trip out with the London Birdwatching, Redbridge Group. A very good morning to this shrubland venue. Guided tour by the group leader Daniel.
 
Birding sightings : Red Kite (being mobbed by a Carrion Crow), male Sparrowhawk, Little Owl, 3 Stock Dove, c20 Woodpigeon, 1 Feral Pigeon, Pheasant in nearby field, 4 Great Spotted Woodpecker, 2 Green Woodpecker, 7 singing Chiffchaff, 4 singing Skylark, c10 Meadow Pipit, 3 Blackbird, 5 Redwing, 10 Fieldfare, 7 singing Song Thrush, 2 Robin, 3 Dunnock, 2 Wren, Long Tailed Tit, Blue Tit, Great Tit, Chaffinch, Goldfinch, Greenfinch, Carrion Crows, Jackdaw, Magpies, 11 Yellowhammer including 8 singing males (and 3 female), male Reed Bunting singing . ( List credited to Daniel Erickson - Hull et al
 ).





Leave a Reply.